The 2019 Scotiabank Photography Award Shortlist is revealed

Apr 05, 2019

TORONTO: The 2019 Scotiabank Photography Award, the largest peer-nominated and peer-reviewed celebration of excellence in Canadian contemporary photography, revealed the three artists on its shortlist today.

The 2019 shortlisted artists are:

Shannon Bool, Berlin, Germany;
Althea Thauberger, Vancouver, British Columbia; and,
Stephen Waddell, Vancouver, British Columbia.

As one of Canada's largest and most prestigious lens-based art awards, the Scotiabank Photography Award aims to recognize the achievements of established mid-to-late-career photo-based artists, and the contributions they have made to art and photography in Canada.

Being named to the shortlist of the 2019 Scotiabank Photography Award is a testament to the inspiring work of these artists, says Barb Mason, Chief Human Resources Officer, Scotiabank. As an organization, we remain committed to supporting Canada's arts community and offering the public the opportunity to experience the powerful way that photography connects people to a moment in time.

The Scotiabank Photography Award Jury is composed of pre-eminent members of the Canadian arts community. The 2019 jurors include:

Edward Burtynsky, Jury Chair, Artist;
Candice Hopkins, Writer/Curator;
Mark Lewis, Artist; and,
Brian Sholis, Editor, Curator and Writer.

My heartfelt congratulations go out to our three 2019 Scotiabank Photography Award shortlisted finalists, says Edward Burtynsky, Chair of the Scotiabank Photography Award Jury. We are pleased to be able to recognize their long-term commitment to the photographic medium, the development of outstanding bodies of work, and lasting contributions to the excellence of Canadian contemporary photography

The winner of the 2019 Scotiabank Photography Award will receive:

a cash prize of $50,000;
a solo Primary Exhibition during the 2020 Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival; and,
a book of their work published and distributed worldwide by art book publisher, Steidl of Germany.

The two finalists will each receive $10,000.

The Scotiabank Photography Award was founded in 2010 with Edward Burtynsky to celebrate the creative vision and accomplishments of some of Canada's most talented photographers. It is Canada's largest and most prestigious annual peer-nominated and peer-reviewed award that recognizes the achievements of established, mid-to-late-career artists and the outstanding contributions that they have made to Canadian contemporary art and photography.

The 2018 Scotiabank Photography Award Winner, Moyra Davey, will have a solo Primary Exhibition at the Ryerson Image Centre during the 2019 Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival, open to the public free of charge from May 1 - August 4, 2019.

The winner of the 2019 Scotiabank Photography Award will be announced at a private gala at The Ryerson Image Centre in Toronto on May 7.

For more information about the Scotiabank Photography Award, please visit the website at (PRN)

Previous Post
Next Post

(c) 2019 All Rights Reserved by ENOOZ.COM and it's content providers