CNA and CNS Congratulate 2018 Canadian Nuclear Achievement Award Winners

May 31, 2018

SASKATOON: The Canadian Nuclear Association (CNA) and the Canadian Nuclear Society (CNS) would like to congratulate the winners of the 2018 Canadian Nuclear Achievement Awards.

The awards, presented jointly by the CNA and the CNS, are to honour those who have made exceptional contributions, technical and non-technical, to the field of nuclear science and technology.

This year, the award winners are:

Ian McRae Award (to honour an individual for substantive contributions, other than scientific, to the advancement of nuclear energy in Canada):

Dr. Joanne M. Ball, for leadership and contributions in the areas of nuclear reactor safety, nuclear fuels, and environmental protection.

Harold A. Smith Outstanding Contribution Award (to recognize Canadian-based individuals, organizations or parts of organizations that have made significant contributions in the nuclear field, either technical or non-technical):

Current and Past NRU Operations and Support Staff, for outstanding contributions to Canadian and international nuclear science and technology research, development, education, and health, and to the economic and environmental fields.
Mr. Engin Ă–zberk, for outstanding contributions to nuclear research, development, and education in Western Canada and the mining sector.
Dr. Jovica R. Riznic, for outstanding contributions to nuclear-engineering research and education in the fields of heat transfer and reactor thermalhydraulics, reliability, safety, and fitness for service.
Mr. Richard Didsbury, for outstanding contributions to CANDU build-project engineering-tool development, and for preparing Canadian Nuclear Laboratories' R&D organization for the transition to the GoCo model.
Dr. Aamir Husain, for outstanding contributions to the nuclear industry in the fields of radiation protection, radioactive waste management, and decommissioning.

Education and Communication Award (to recognize individuals for significant efforts in improving understanding of nuclear science and technology among educators, students and the public):

Ms. Jo-Ann Facella, for accomplishments in the field of social engagement and acceptance of long-term management of used nuclear fuel.
Dr. Neil Alexander, for passion and commitment to public education and outreach related to various aspects of nuclear science, medicine, and technology.
Mr. Matthew T. J. Dalzell, for passion and commitment to public education and outreach related to various aspects of nuclear science, medicine, and technology.

John S. Hewitt Team Achievement Award (to recognize recipients for outstanding team achievements in the introduction or implementation of new concepts or the attainment of difficult goals in the nuclear field in Canada):

Bruce B Cobalt Harvest Team, in recognition of its achievements in safely and efficiently implementing a new radionuclide harvesting process using High Specific Activity Cobalt Rods at Bruce Power.
CNL Physics and Economics of Thorium-Based Fuel Research Team, in recognition of its scientific and technical achievements in the fields of reactor-physics behaviour and modelling, fuel-cycle characteristics, and economic characteristics of thorium-based fuels.

Fellow of the Canadian Nuclear Society (appointed to individuals for extensive contributions to the Society and meritorious service to the nuclear field in Canada):

Dr. Blair P. Bromley, for extensive contributions to the CNS, as chair of the Fusion Science and Technology Division, and as organizer of conferences, technical meetings and courses.
Dr. Mohamed Younis, for extensive contributions to the CNS as Treasurer, chair of various CNS committees, and member of numerous conference organizing committees.

The awards will be presented on June 5th, during the CNS Annual Conference in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, June 3-6, 2018. (PRN)

Previous Post
Next Post

(c) 2019 All Rights Reserved by ENOOZ.COM and it's content providers